4th North American Symposium on Chemical Reaction Engineering

Neal R. Amundson Award Nominations

Neal AmundsonIn 1996, the ISCRE, Inc. Board of Directors established the Neal R. Amundson Award for Excellence in Chemical Reaction Engineering. This award recognizes pioneers in the field of Chemical Reaction Engineering who have exerted a major influence on the theory and/or practice of the field, through originality, creativity, and novelty of concept or application.

The award is made every three years at an ISCRE or NASCRE meeting, and consists of a plaque and a check in the amount of $5000. The Amundson Award is generously supported by a grant from the ExxonMobil Corporation.

This award complements ISCRE's other major honor, the Rutherford Aris Award.

View past Amundson Award recipients.

Nomination Instructions

Members of the CRE division of AIChE and participants of ISCRE meetings are eligible to nominate suitable candidates for the Amundson Award. The nomination package must include:

  1. A completed nomination form (download in MS Word format) including a statement of the candidate's scientific and technical accomplishments, highlighting contributions and emphasizing how they have been a source of influence in the CRE community (If you downloaded a previous version of the nomination form before August 10, please note that it incorrectly had an item #4 in which two supporting letters were mentioned. Please note that two supporting letters are NOT required.); and
  2. A curriculum vitae, including patents, publications, and prior awards/honors.

Nomination packages must be submitted by e-mail to pgautam@SABIC.com by November 2, 2018.

Selection Process

The ISCRE, Inc. Board of Directors appoints a chair of the awards committee, who subsequently selects two additional two members. This three-person subcommittee will review the nominations and identify the top three candidates. The full ISCRE, Inc. Board will then vote on the three finalists.

Key Dates

Aug 18, 2018 — Open Call for Abstracts

Nov 2, 2018 — Award Nomination Deadline

Nov 19, 2018 — Abstract Deadline

Dec 7, 2018 — Online Registration Begins

Dec 14, 2018 — Notification of Acceptance

Feb 1, 2019 — Early Registration Deadline

Mar 1, 2019 — Manuscripts Due