4th North American Symposium on Chemical Reaction Engineering

2019 Rutherford Aris Award Recipient

Rutherford ArisThe 2019 Rutherford Aris Award recognizes outstanding contributions in experimental and/or theoretical reaction engineering research of investigators in early stages of their career. The recipient must be less than 40 years of age at the end of the calendar year in which the award is presented. The Aris Award is generously supported by a grant from the UOP, L.L.C., a Honeywell Company. The award will be presented at ISCRE 24. It consists of a plaque, an honorarium of $3,000, and up to $2,000 in travel funds to present at NASCRE 4.

The ISCRE Board is pleased to announce that Professor Yuriy Román-Leshkov of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology has been selected as the winner of the Aris award, from a pool of 10 outstanding candidates

Prof. Román-Leshkov was nominated “For innovative advances in heterogeneous catalysis and processes for renewable energy applications". Professor Román-Leshkov’s contributions to advancing knowledge in the areas of reaction engineering and heterogeneous catalysis are made evident by the 60+ papers that have been published from his group at MIT over the last 8 years as well as the fact that his work has been cited over 9000 times in that same time period.

Excerpts from the nomination include:

  • "Yuriy has established a unique and highly impactful research program, addressing fundamental scientific and technological questions, underpinning serious societal problems, through the combination of reaction engineering and catalyst design."
  • "Yuriy has developed very successful research program that blends core principles of reaction engineering, materials science, and green chemistry to solve the complex, multiscale challenges associated with the transition to a sustainable economy."
  • "Dr. Román has already made many important contributions to reaction engineering that demonstrates how to more efficiently transform alternative feedstock into fuels and chemicals. He is the clear leader in the field."

Key Dates

Aug 18, 2018 — Open Call for Abstracts

Nov 2, 2018 — Award Nomination Deadline

Nov 19, 2018 — Abstract Deadline

Dec 7, 2018 — Online Registration Begins

Dec 14, 2018 — Notification of Acceptance

Feb 1, 2019 — Early Registration Deadline